Beautiful Scenery in Western Hills of Haidian District2016-09-02 15:25:56Share:
Western Hills of Haidian district and Yong-ting River are integral part of Beijing. All of Phoenix Valley, Jiufeng Mountain and Yangtai Mountain have a long history and beautiful natural environment during four seasons. Walk into the Western Hills and we can feel its spectacular ecological environment and cultural implications.
Phoenix Valley: Natural blessing
The natural beauty of the Phoenix Valley Natural Park has built up its reputation as “Little Huangshan Mountain in western Beijing”. The Park also boasts multiple places of religious relics and cultural heritage.
Inscriptions on precipices in the Phoenix Valley
The inscriptions on precipices of the Phoenix Valley are the biggest one in Beijing. They are 4 meters high and 3 meters wide and the strokes are 20 cm wide and 10 cm deep. The inscriptions were done in 1930s and earned the Park the name of “Phoenix Valley”.
Longquan Temple was a Buddhism Temple which was open to the public after establishment of the PRC and it was first built in AD 951. There is a Longquan Lake in the temple which gave birth to the name of Longquan Temple.
The temple was mostly destroyed during the Cultural Revolution except an ancient stone bridge which was well-preserved to nowadays. The Bridge known as Jin Long Bridge was built and funded by the first abbot.
In 1955, with the opening of Phoenix Natural Park, local government and religious groups renovated the temple to its original looks.
Shangfang Temple Relics
The Temple was constructed in AD 960 and was situated on the 650 m high mountain on northern line of the Phoenix Valley. According to the monument records, the temple’s visitors reached its peak for 300 years from the Emperor Tianshun in the Ming Dynasty to the Emperor Daoguang in the Qing Dynasty and then declined to the end of the Qing Dynasty.
Jingangshi Pagoda is 2.5 m high and was built on top of a 15 m high giant stone in the Ming Dynasty.
Huangpu House was constructed by the Emperor Zhangzong in Jin Dynasty and served as the imperial palace for short stays during the emperor hunts. The remaining monument in the house has dragons and turtles pattern
inscriptions. In the autumn 1941, it was burnt by the Japanese army and only its site and monuments survived.
Jiufeng Mountain (Eagle Peak): Intellectual and ancient
The Jiufeng Mountain Park has steep hills and its peaks looking like an eagle earn the name “Eagle Peak”. The park also boasts rich cultural heritage as well as ancient temples and modern buildings.
At the foot of the Jiufeng Mountain stands a Fushun Temple also known as Xiangtang Temple which served as a place for senior eunuchs. It is said to be built by eunuchs in the Qing Dynasty. The scenery in the temple was so delightful that even the 7Th Prince often came here to spend summer.
Xiufeng Temple and Jiufeng House
Xiufeng Temple was built by abbot under the order of eunuch Gaogong in 1433 and the construction completed in 1437 and was named Xiufeng Temple by the Emperor. A lawyer named Lin Xinggui purchased and renovated the temple in early Republic of China period and spent summer from May to the Mid-Autumn Day and set up a poem group.
Earthquake Station of Jiufeng Mountain
The earthquake station was on the southern side of Xiufeng Temple and was the first one ever built in China. In 1929, under the leadership of Weng Wenhao, Geology Inspection Department of the Central Government used the Xiufeng Temple Villa to build the station and completed the work in 1930. On 13:22 of September 22 of the same year, the station recorded the first earthquake. On the 60th anniversary of the founding of the Station, the Geophysics Institute of the China Earthquake Administration rebuilt the station.
Bei Family Park
Bei Xiye is a French man who came to China in 1912 and worked as a doctor in the French Embassy to China. He sympathized and supported the Chinese war against Japanese invasion and helped the Red Army by providing medicine though a village clinic set in the Bei Family Park.
Dajue Temple: Ancient and graceful
Dajue Temple was located at the foot of the Yangtai Mountain. It was built in the Liao Dynasty in 1068 and was known as Qing Shui Courtyard, it was renovated in the Ming Dynasty and renamed Dajue Temple.
The mountain gate of Dajue Temple is made of stone and has an arch door and stele on the top. It served as the imperial temple first in the Jin Dynasty and through the Qing Dynasty for about 600 years.
The temple faces east and lies along the mountain. It is famous for its spring, ancient trees, magnolia denudate and elegant environment. There are altogether 160 ancient trees in the temple including gingko of 1000 years, and magnolia denudate and conifer of 300 years.
The Imperial Gardens
5 Bests of the Summer Palace
5 Recommended Chinese Delicacies in Autumn Season
The Beauty of China’s Spring Teas
5 Beijing-Style Breakfast You Must Try
"Haidian" is a Must for Travelers in Beijing
7 Ways to Wrap A Dumpling
Bars and Nightclubs in Haidian District
A Hot Pot Restaurant Full of Happy Elements